Thursday, October 24, 2013


After Dead by Charlaine Harris

After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse

Below, you can find the complete synopsis of this "book," but I have some things I want to say.  First of all, I have read every book in this series. I fell in love with this story and how original it all felt to me.  I liked Sookie a lot, even if she was a little ditzy, but I figured she was naive in the beginning and would mature and become more worldly as the series continued.  I kept reading the books because of their action, mystery and impatiently waiting for Sookie and Eric to get together.  Then they did.

At some point in the middle of the series, once Sookie got with Eric, I think the author started resenting the series.  I think she knew she had to keep writing them, but I'm not sure she wanted to anymore.  She ruined the Sookie and Eric.  Eric's character was an unrecognizable coward in the last book.  I could go on and on about the crap this series became, but I want to stay focused.  I wrote an entire rant article, check it out for more of my crazy.

Anyway, I was relieved when the story ended simply because I wanted to know what happened but was glad to put myself out of my misery.  Then I find this. I think there is a reason that every author doesn't end their series with coda. It's not a novel, and isn't a new installment in the series, yet it will sell for the same price without having to put the effort into actually writing another book. Just write blurbs about all of the characters and where they end up after repeatedly telling everyone that you are done with the series because you have no ideas. As a book buyer and avid fan, this annoys me to no end.  I'm really starting to buy into the theory that she stopped writing the books because people liked the tv show better. *breathes* 

So now that I've got that off of my chest, I want to know if anyone else feels this way?  Am I on an island?

From the Publisher...

Dead Ever After marked the end of the Sookie Stackhouse novels—a series that garnered millions of fans and spawned the hit HBO television show True Blood. It also stoked a hunger that will never die, …a hunger to know what happened next.

With characters arranged alphabetically—from the Ancient Pythoness to Bethany Zanelli—bestselling author Charlaine Harris takes fans into the future of their favorite residents of Bon Temps and environs. You’ll learn how Michele and Jason’s marriage fared, what happened to Sookie’s cousin Hunter, and whether Tara and JB’s twins grew up to be solid citizens.

This coda provides the answers to your lingering questions—including details of Sookie’s own happily-ever-after…
The book will feature extensive interior art by acclaimed Sookie artist Lisa Desimini, including a Sookieverse Alphabet, color endpapers, and several full-page black and white interior illustrations.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the Glamour Amour kit by Irene Alexeeva and the Oh La La kit by NewLifeDreams Design