Sunday, November 11, 2018

ARC Review: The Color of Lies


-->
-->

ABL Review At-A-Glance



Ø    Title:  The Color of Lies
Ø    My Rating:  4
Ø    Genre:  Contemporary,  Mystery,  Thriller
Ø    Author:  CJ Lyons
Ø    Format:  ARC paperback*
Ø    Publication Date:  November 6, 2018







Compare to:



Synopsis


From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author CJ Lyons comes The Color of Lies, a world drenched in color and mystery.

High school senior Ella Cleary has always been good at reading people. Her family has a rare medical condition called synesthesia that scrambles the senses—her Gram Helen sees every sound, and her uncle Joe can literally taste words. Ella’s own synesthesia manifests itself as the ability to see colors that reveal people’s true emotions…until she meets a guy she just can’t read.

Alec is a mystery to Ella, a handsome, enigmatic young journalist who makes her feel normal for the first time in her life. That is, until he reveals the real reason why he sought her out—he wants to learn the truth behind her parents’ deaths, the parents that Ella had always been told died in a fire. Alec turns Ella’s world upside down when he tells her their deaths were definitely not an accident.

After learning her entire life has been a lie, Ella doesn’t know who she can trust or even who she really is. With her adoptive family keeping secrets and the evidence mixing fact and fiction, the only way for Ella to learn the truth about her past is to find a killer.

Perfect for fans of Caroline B. Cooney, Ally Carter, and Jennifer Brown, The Color of Lies blurs the lines between black-and-white facts and the kaleidoscope of reality.



My Thoughts...

I had so many different feelings while reading this book.  Since I had so many conflicting emotions, I thought I would write my review by outlining them.

Intrigued – I was super intrigued by several concepts and subjects in The Color of Lies.  Synesthesia is the most obvious example of this.  I knew of the condition before, but never really thought about how it would change a person’s perspective.  Also, the mystery was definitely intriguing, especially when trying to fit it into the overall character arch.  I was constantly asking myself where this was going, which is great for mystery (kind of the point of the genre).

Confused – I found myself pulled in different directions.  While at times I could clearly see where the story was going and who I was rooting for, there were many times when the plot and the character’s feelings felt indeterminable.  This may have been intentional, since we are talking about a mystery.  However, while most of the time my uncertainty propelled my interest in the book, sometimes I felt disconnected from the action.  This is a vague feeling, so not a specific critique, and might not be true for everyone, hence confusion.

Hopeful – So this might sound like a weird feeling for a thriller to invoke, but hear me out.  This was a mystery but also a character study.  I became so invested in Ella and wanted to see her figure her life out.  By the end, I was rooting for her in all kinds of ways, even beyond the immediate circumstances.

Romantic – The love story in this book was refreshing, because it wasn’t the driving force behind the story.  There was a bit of instalove, but the characters were uniquely entwined from previous experiences, so I can let that go.  And the romance wasn’t the only factor compelling the story forward.  Instead, Lyons allowed her characters to move and progress throughout the book without being consumed by their amourous feelings.  But they were still evident enough to allow the reader to acknowledge them and get interested.

Good book for anyone who like YA and mystery.

Book Links

Goodreads      Amazon           Barnes & Noble          Book Depository         IndieBound







About the Author

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over forty novels, former pediatric ER doctor CJ Lyons has lived the life she writes about in her cutting edge Thrillers with Heart. 

Two times winner of the International Thriller Writers coveted Thriller Award, CJ has been called a "master within the genre" (Pittsburgh Magazine) and her work has been praised as "breathtakingly fast-paced" and "riveting" (Publishers Weekly) with "characters with beating hearts and three dimensions" (Newsday).

Learn more about CJ's Thrillers with Heart at 
www.CJLyons.net

Twitter: https://twitter.com/cjlyonswriter
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cj.lyons
Website: https://cjlyons.net/


Giveaway

Prize: 5 Copies of The Color of Lies by CJ Lyons (USA only)
Starts: 11/5/18
Ends:  11/16/18




* Special thanks to CJ Lyons, Blink, and The Fantastic Flying Book Club for providing a copy of The Color of Lies in exchange for an honest review.







No comments:

Post a Comment

 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the Glamour Amour kit by Irene Alexeeva and the Oh La La kit by NewLifeDreams Design